How to Permanently Delete ChatGPT Account: Step-by-Step Guide
ChatGPT has taken over the world, and there’s no reason why it shouldn’t. There are so many ways how ChatGPT is helping us with its capabilities. If you‘re one of the many people who‘ve created an OpenAI account and are wondering how to delete ChatGPT account, this blog is for you.
Collection of top AI tools to use for different tasks.
There may be a lot of reasons for you to want to delete the account. Maybe you‘re worried about your data privacy and chat history, or maybe you’re done using it. Either way, if you want to delete your ChatGPT account, we’re here to help. The deletion process is not lengthy, and in this blog, we will discuss how you can delete your ChatGPT account while also explaining the deletion process of your chats. Let’s get started.
Things to consider before deleting your ChatGPT account
Before we dig into how to delete ChatGPT account, let‘s take a look at a few things you should know about and consider about the deletion process:
- Soon after you delete your ChatGPT account, you will immediately lose access. There‘s no way to log in again.
- Unlike the deletion of accounts on some social media platforms or tools, deleting a ChatGPT account is permanent. Once done, you won’t be able to get your old account back. As per OpenAI, you will no longer have API access as well.
- When you delete your ChatGPT account, all your data, including conversations, will be deleted.
Step-by-step guide to permanently deleting your ChatGPT account
One thing you should know before you delete a ChatGPT account is that ChatGPT is accessed through OpenAI. So, you will not be deleting your ChatGPT account. Instead, you‘ll be deleting your OpenAI account. Secondly, if you delete your OpenAI account, you won‘t be able to access other platforms associated with OpenAI, like DALL-E 2.
That said, if you don‘t want to lose access to all the other platforms, you should consider deleting your ChatGPT chats and data instead of deleting the account altogether.
Here are the steps you should follow if you’re looking for how to delete ChatGPT account:
Step 1: Visit the official OpenAI website
Go to https://platform.openai.com. If you‘re not already logged in, the website will take you to the login page. Login using your credentials and select the Help option. You will find it at the top right corner of the website.
Step 2: Look for the Help option
Once you select the Help option, look for the Help button at the bottom and click on it.
Step 3: Find the Send Us a Message floating button
Once you‘re on the Help page, look for a Send Us a Message button at the bottom of the page. If you‘re unable to find it, wait for a few seconds for the floating button to appear. Click on the button.
Step 4: Select the Account Deletion option
Once you open the chat box, various options will appear in front of you. There, select the Account Deletion option.
Step 5: Confirm account deletion
Once you select the Delete My Account option, you‘ll be asked to confirm this action. Click on Yes.
Step 6: Your account will be deleted
After you click on Yes to delete your account, it may take two to four weeks for the account to get deleted. Meanwhile, you will not be able to access your OpenAI or ChatGPT account or create a new account using the same credentials.
Once you delete your ChatGPT account, the data associated with that account will be permanently deleted.
Will deleting the ChatGPT account also delete other OpenAI accounts?
Deleting your ChatGPT account associated with a service or platform will not delete any other OpenAI accounts. However, your access to OpenAI‘s API and other services will be impacted if you access ChatGPT using your OpenAI account and choose to delete it. Thus, deleting your OpenAI account will also remove your access to ChatGPT and other services associated with OpenAI.
How to delete ChatGPT chats
In this section, let‘s discuss how you can edit or delete your chats with ChatGPT:
- Open ChatGPT and log in using your credentials.
- You will find all your previous conversations on the left side of the page. All new chats are also saved there.
- On the right side of the chat, you will find a Delete and Edit button. You can click on the pencil icon to edit the chat name and tap on the trash can icon to delete the chat. Then, click on the checkmark option to permanently delete that chat.
- You can also delete all the chats in one go by clicking on the Clear Conversations button at the bottom-left corner. Once done, select Confirm Clear Conversations to delete all the previously saved chats.
These steps are specifically for deleting ChatGPT chats using your desktop. If you‘re using ChatGPT on different apps and platforms using OpenAI‘s API, the chat deletion process may be different.
How to save a conversation with ChatGPT?
When you create a tab on your ChatGPT account and converse with it in that tab, ChatGPT keeps the conversations safe and doesn‘t erase them.
However, if you’re worried about your conversations being deleted, you can follow these general guidelines to keep them safe:
Select the text you want to save: Select and highlight the conversation you want to save.
Copy the text: Once highlighted, press Ctrl+C if you use Windows/Linux or Cmd+C for Mac or right-click and select Copy.
Paste the text: Once done, you can paste the copied text on Google Docs, Notepad, etc., and paste it by pressing Ctrl+V for Windows/Linux or Cmd+V for Mac, or right-click and select Paste.
Save the text: Now, save the document to keep the highlighted ChatGPT conversation safe.
Select the text: Tap and hold the conversation you want to save and wait for the context menu to load.
Copy the text: The context menu will show various options. Select Copy.
Paste the text: Open Google Docs or any other note-taking app where you want to save the selected text. Long press on the app to make the context menu appear and select Paste.
Save the text: Save the document to keep the text safe for future purposes.
Capture a screenshot
Another way you can save the conversations is by taking a screenshot. You can take a screenshot depending on the device you‘re using:
Windows: Click on Windows+PrtScn to take a screenshot.
Mac: Click on Shift+Command+4 to take a selected screenshot or Shift+Command+3 to capture the entire screen.
Android: Press the Volume Down and Power buttons simultaneously to capture the screenshot.
iOS: Press the Volume Up and Side buttons simultaneously to capture the screenshot.
The screenshot will automatically get saved to your device after you capture it.
ChatGPT Android or iOS usage requirements
An API is used to access OpenAI‘s ChatGPT. This means that ChatGPT can be integrated with several platforms, including iOS and Android apps. To use ChatGPT on your mobile device, you‘ll require the following:
OpenAI’s API access: You’ll need access to OpenAI’s API. Not everyone can access the API since you need an API key to access it. To get access to OpenAI’s API, you can apply for the same at https://beta.openai.com/signup/. You‘ll be provided access after considering certain factors.
A service or app compatible with ChatGPT: Look for an app or a platform that is compatible with your mobile device and utilizes ChatGPT.
Active Internet connection: ChatGPT is based on OpenAI‘s API, and you will need an active internet connection to interact and communicate with ChatGPT.
With the API access in hand, you will be able to use ChatGPT on your device. On the other hand, if you want to access OpenAI‘s ChatGPT on Windows or Mac, you‘ll need to create an OpenAI account and use those credentials to log into ChatGPT.
Artificial Intelligence (AI) has taken the world by storm, and ChatGPT is an AI-based tool that is here to stay. In this thorough guide, we’ve discussed how you can save and delete ChatGPT conversations and how to delete ChatGPT.
We hope our guide helps you use ChatGPT easily. If you still have any questions, you can always reach out to OpenAI‘s support team to help you understand the processes in a better manner.